News Archives

Jimmie Johnson Sits on Pole for AAA Texas 500 at Texas Motor Speedway

November 2nd, 2012 at 7:17 PM
By Clayton Caldwell

Qualifying for the AAA Texas 500 at Texas Motor Speedway is complete and Jimmie Johnson continues his hot streak as he takes the pole for the eighth race in the Chase for the Sprint Cup. It's his fourth pole of the 2012 season and his 29 on his Sprint Cup career. Johnson took the pole with a speed of 191.076mph. Joining Johnson on the front row is Greg Biffle in his Roush Fenway Racing Ford.

Starting third in the event is Kyle Busch and Clint Boywer will roll off fourth in the 5-Hour Energy Toyota. Starting fifth is Martin Truex Jr and Joey Logano starts sixth in the Home Depot Toyota. Starting seventh is Trevor Bayne in the Wood Brothers Ford and starting eighth is second place points man Brad Keselowski. Starting in the ninth position is Carl Edwards and teammate Matt Kenseth will roll off tenth.

Other notables include Mark Martin in 11th, Denny Hamlin in 12th, Kasey Kahne in 13th, Jeff Gordon will start 16th with Kurt Busch starting 18th. Dale Earnhardt Jr will start 19th and Tony Stewart will roll off 21st. Jeff Burton starts 22nd and Kevin Harvick will roll off 23rd. Danica Patrick wills start 32nd and Ryan Newman will start 36th.

46 cars attempted to qualify for the race meaning three drivers failed to qualify for the race. Those three were Stephan Leicht, Kelly Bires and David Stremme.

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race AAA Texas 500 will start at 2pm on ESPN on Sunday.

Tags: AAA Texas 500, Greg Biffle, Jimmie Johnson, Kyle Busch, Motorsports, NASCAR, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, Texas Motor Speedway

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: