News Archives

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Lucas Oil 150 at Phoenix International Raceway Preview

November 9th, 2012 at 9:30 AM
By Mark Eddinger

The Lucas Oil 150 at Phoenix International Raceway is race 21 of 22 in the 2012 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series season and there are four drivers that still have the championship within sites. James Buescher leads Ty Dillon by 15 points, Timothy Peters by 25, and Parker Kligerman by 27.

Qualifying for the race is set for 4:30 p.m. ET today with the race following at 7:30, both on SPEED Channel.

Matt Crafton, in his No. 88 ThorSport Racing Toyota Tundra, turned the fastest lap in Thursday's first practice session.

'6.23.12 Road America NASCAR Nationwide Sargento 200 - Matt Crafton NASCAR Truck' photo (c) 2012, Royal Broil - license:

Todd Bodine in the No. 11 Red Horse Racing Toyota was second followed by his two Red Horse Racing teammates that are in the championship hunt. Peters was third and Kligerman fourth. Rounding out the top five was Brian Scott in Kyle Busch Motorsports No. 18 truck. Buescher was seventh fastest in his Turner Motorsports No. 31 and Ty Dillon was 12th in his No. 3 Richard Childress Racing ride.

Nelson Piquet Jr. in his No. 30 Turner Motorsports Chevrolet led the second practice session Thursday evening. Kligerman was second, Dillon third, and Peters fourth. Ryan Blaney rounded out the top five. Buescher was a bit off the pace in 12th. 

Only two of the 38 drivers on the entry list have visited victory lane at PIR in the past. Ron Hornaday Jr. won in 1998 and 1999 and Todd Bodine was victorious in 2005.

The past five season's the Phoenix winner was a Sprint Cup Series regular. Kyle Busch won in 2007 and 2011, Kevin Harvick in 2008 and 2009, and Clint Bowyer in 2010. That will change tonight because no Sprint Cup Series regulars have a ride. 

With the lack of Sprint Cup veterans there are a host of youngsters looking to make a mark that are in the race. Jeff Choquette will be making his third CWTS start of his career in the No. 97 truck. He finished 11th and 8th in both of the Iowa Speedway races this season. Nineteen-year old Kyle Larson will also be making his third start in the No 4 Turner Motorsports truck. He finished 10th at Kentucky and 6th at Atlanta. Other young drivers that will be competitive are David Mayhew, John King, Ryan Truex, Stephen Leicht, and German Quiroga.

Tags: David Mayhew, James Buescher, Jeff Choquette, Kyle Larson, Matt Crafton, Motorsports, Nelson Piquet Jr., Parker Kligerman, Phoenix International Raceway, Ron Hornaday Jr., Ryan Blaney, Ryan Truex, Timothy Peters, Todd Bodine, Ty Dillon

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: