News Archives

Chase Elliott Wins Second Snowflake 100, Eyes Weekend Sweep and Second Straight Snowball Derby

December 2nd, 2012 at 10:39 AM
By Clayton Caldwell

Chase Elliott has an impressive resume for a 17-year old driver. Last night Elliott's resume got a little larger. That's because Elliott won his second straight Alan Turner Hyundai Snowflake 100 at Five Flags Speedway in Pensacola, Florida. Elliott easily beat veteran Mike Garvey in the 100 lap race. Elliott was proud of his team for the effort.

"This means a lot to me," Elliott said. "My guys work hard year after year."

Elliott beat veteran Mike Garvey and Kyle Benjamin finished third. Johanna Long finished in the seventh position. Other notables in the field Saturday night included Brandon McReynolds, who finished sixth. McReynolds is the son of NASCAR broadcaster and former crew chief Larry McReynolds. Two time Snowball Derby champion Augie Grill finished tenth. NASCAR Nationwide Series regular Chase Miller finished 18th and Camping World Truck Series regular Brian Silas finished in the 26th position. Elliott's teammate Ben Kennedy finished in 27th after he had a great race all night long only to retire on lap 91.

Elliott led twice in the event, leading 52 of the race's 100 laps. Kyle Benjamin and pole sitter Justin South were the races' only other leaders.

No driver has ever swept the Snowflake 100 and the Snowball Derby in the same season, but Elliott says he believes he has a team that is capable of doing it.

"I know we got a team that is capable of winning tomorrow," Elliott said.

Elliott won the Snowball Derby last season and looks to make it back to back victories in the event. The Snowball Derby begins at 2 p.m. on Sunday.

The Snowball Derby has been "the Super Bowl of Short Track Racing" since it began in 1968. The first winner was Wayne Niedecken. Other notable winners include, Friday Hassler, Darrell Waltrip, Pete Hamilton, Donnie Allison, Ronnie Sanders, Jody Ridley, Ted Musgrave, Rick Crawford, Rich Bickle, Jeff Purvis, Steve Wallace, Clay Rogers, Kyle Busch, Johanna Long and Chase Elliott in 2011.

Tags: Ben Kennedy, Chase Elliott, Chase Miller, Five Flags Speedway, Kyle Benjamin, Mike Garvey, Motorsports, Snowball Derby, Snowflake 100

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: