News Archives

Joe Denette Motorsports Expands, Brendan Gaughan to Run Full-Time in Camping World Truck Series for RCR

December 5th, 2012 at 6:24 PM
By Clayton Caldwell

The offseason really doesn't seem like much of an offseason because there is so much news coming out almost daily. Today we learned about the fate of two Camping World Truck Series teams. 

First off there is Joe Denette Motorsports. Joe Denette Motorsports was formed in the 2010 season after Denette, a life-long race fan, won the Virginia State Lottery. In his first season he was teamed with Jason White and last year had a full-time truck with driver Ron Hornaday Jr. 

'HornadyDriverSeat' photo (c) 2008, Doug Lambert - license:

Today Denette announced his team and NTS Motorsports have formed a partnership for the 2013 season. The team will run three trucks in the 2013 season and go under the name of NTS Motorsports. Denette will still have full-ownership on the #9 truck which will be driven by Ron Hornaday Jr who signed a two year contract extension with the team. NTS Motorsports and their owner Bob Newberry will own the #14 truck driven by youngster Brennan Newberry. The team will also run a third truck, which will be a partnership between the two teams with several drivers driving the truck. That truck will be numbered 24 with Kevin Harvick behind the wheel at both Martinsville races. Sponsorships will be announced at a later date. 

Calling the shots on the pit box for Hornaday will be Bruce Cook, who has six career NASCAR Camping World Truck Series victories to his credit. Cook will also be the teams competition director. Newberry's crew chief will be Dan Deeringhoff. Deeringhoff won the 2008 NASCAR Nationwide Series championship with driver Clint Bowyer at Richard Childress Racing. No word on the crew chief for the #24 team yet. 

Speaking of Richard Childress Racing, the team also made an announcement today. Brendan Gaughan, who ran several races for the organization in all three NASCAR series in 2012, will run full-time in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series for the organization. Gaughan's truck will be numbered 62 and will have funding from South Point Hotel and Casino, a company which is owned by Gaughan's father. The team will have the owner points from RCR's #22 team, which was piloted by Joey Coulter in 2012. 

Tags: Brendan Gaughan, Brennan Newberry, Joe Denette Motorsports, Motorsports, NASCAR, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, NTS Motorsports, Richard Childress Racing, Ron Hornaday Jr.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: