News Archives

Motorsports 101 News & Notes: Juan Montoya and Jamie McMurray to Race in Rolex 24 at Daytona

December 18th, 2012 at 11:01 PM
By Mark Eddinger

It was a busy news day in the world of motorsports on Tuesday. In addition to the announcement that Parker Kligerman will race full time at Kyle Busch Motorsports in the Nationwide Series in 2013 and John Wes Townley will race full time for Red Horse Racing in the Camping World Truck Series, there was more news.

Juan Pablo Montoya and Jamie McMurray: Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates has won six GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series championships including the last three and has released its driver line-up for the Rolex 24 At Daytona. Both of the Earnhardt-Ganassi Racing Sprint Cup Series teammates, Juan Pablo Montoya and Jamie McMurray will be a part of a four driver team. Montoya will team with Scott Pruett, Memo Rojas, Charlie Kimball in the No. 01 TELMEX/Target BMW.

'6.23.12 Road America / Grand Am - DP 01 Chip Ganassi Racing : Scott Pruett / Memo Rojas' photo (c) 2012, Royal Broil - license:

McMurray will team with Scott Dixon, Dario Franchitti, and Joey Hand in the No. 02 Target/TELMEX BMW. The 51st running of the Rolex 24 at Daytona will be held on January 26 and 27.

David Ragan: Front Row Motorsports has announced that David Ragan's No. 34 Ford has picked up primary sponsorship from the South Carolina based McCall Farms for four races in the 2013 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series.  The company sponsored Ragan for four races in the 2012 season as well. The McCall Farms Margaret Holmes Peanut Patch brand will serve as the primary sponsor of the Front Row Motorsports entry at the same four venues in 2013. Those four races will be at Darlington on May 11, Bristol on August 24, Atlanta on September 1 and Charlotte on October 12.

Trevor Bayne: Cargill will once again be a part season primary sponsor of Roush Fenway Racing's No. 6 Ford Mustang in the NASCAR Nationwide Series. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. won back-to-back Nationwide Series Championships with backing from Cargill with the No. 6 team and now Trevor Bayne will take over the reigns.

"We still have room for one or two more primary sponsors next season on the remaining races with Trevor and the #6 team," said Roush Fenway president Steve Newmark. "It's an unusual but exciting opportunity for a potential partner to join a proven team seeking its third consecutive championship in the Nationwide Series, and with a driver who is one of the most popular in the sport."

Crew chief Mike Kelley will return with the team as the leader from the top of the pit box.

Max Chilton: Marussia F1Team has announced that 21-year old Max Chilton will be the second driver at the Formula One team for the 2013 season. He will join Timo Glock under the Marussia F1 Team banner. Charles Pic did not score a point in his 20 races in 2012 in the seat that Chilton will take over. 

“It comes at the end of what has been a fantastic year for me,” said Chilton. “And those steps – my GP2 pole positions and wins, my performances in the F1 Young Driver Test and in FP1 at Abu Dhabi – have given everyone the confidence in my ability to compete at the highest level of motor sport. I am very fortunate to have spent the last six races with the Marussia F1 Team as the Reserve Driver, which means that instead of a standing start, I am already up to speed and at ease with the people, the culture, the systems and, of course, the 2012 package."

The 30-year old Glock also did not score any points in the 2012 Formula One season.
IZOD IndyCar Series: The Leader Circle program which guarantees the Top-22 finishers in the IndyCar Series points the previous season a set amount of money for running each race will be reduced once again in the 2013 season. The cut is supposed to be by 10 percent to help balance the budget for the series. Since there are 19 scheduled races for the 2013 season the expected payout for the 22 Leader Circle teams per race race is expected to be $55,000. That is down from $72,500 per race per team in the 15-race 2012 schedule. 
Tags: Dario Franchitti, david ragan, Formula One, Jamie McMurray, Joey Hand, Juan Pablo Montoya, Max Chilton, Memo Rojas, mike Kelley, Motorsports, Nationwide Series, Scott Dixon, Scott Pruett, Sprint Cup Series, Trevor Bayne

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: