News Archives

Tony Stewart to Run for His Own Team in the Chili Bowl Nationals

December 26th, 2012 at 4:21 PM
By Mark Eddinger

Three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion and two-time Chili Bowl winner Tony Stewart will compete in this season's Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire from January 8th through the 12th. Stewart will race his Tony Stewart Racing No. 14 Chevrolet in the most prestigious Midget race of the year.

'TONY STEWART' photo (c) 2009, James - license:

The 27th Annual Chili Bowl will be held at the QuikTrip Center's Tulsa Expo Raceway. Stewart, who won the event in 2002 and 2007 did not participate in the event from 2009 to 2011 but finished tenth last season in 2012.

Kevin Swindell, who is 23-years old, has won the past three Chili Bowl events. He finished ninth and 21st in his two NASCAR Nationwide Series races for owner Fred Biagi's No 98 Ford at Texas Motor Speedway and Homestead-Miami Speedway at the end of the 2012 season. He also won his first ARCA Racing Series event at Chicagoland Speedway on July 21st by leading all 100 laps for Venturini Motorsports.

Stewart and Swindell will be two of over 200 drivers that compete in a qualifying program and accumulate points to try to qualify for the 50-lap -A-Main finale on Saturday, January 12th. Other notable drivers with NASCAR ties entered in the event are J.J. Yeley, Justin Allgaier, Cole Whitt, Dakota Armstrong, Brad Sweet, and Kyle Larson.

Tags: Brad Sweet, Chili Bowl, Cole Whitt, Dakota Armstrong, Fred Biagi, J.J. Yeley, Justin Allgaier, Kevin Swindell, Kyle Larson, Motorsports, NASCAR, NASCAR Nationwide Series, Sprint Cup Series, Tony Stewart, Venturini Motorsports

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: