News Archives

Denny Hamlin Wins Pole for Auto Club 400 at Auto Club Speedway

March 22nd, 2013 at 8:52 PM
By Clayton Caldwell

Denny Hamlin won the pole for Sunday's Auto Club 400 at Auto Club Speedway of Southern California. Hamlin took the pole at a speed of 187.451 miles per hour. It's Hamlin's 13th career NASCAR Sprint Cup Series pole and his first in the 2013 season. Hamlin has qualified himself for the 2014 Sprint Unlimited.

'Denny Hamlin' photo (c) 2011, Parker Anderson - license:

Starting on the outside of the front row is Greg Biffle. Biffle blew an engine in practice earlier on Friday and will start the Auto Club 400 from the back. That will put fourth place starter Kyle Busch on the outside pole, replacing Biffle. Brad Keselowski qualified third. Keselowski also changed his engine and will start the race from the back as well. That will push fifth place starter Matt Kenseth to third. Starting from the sixth position is Joey Logano with Martin Truex Jr starting seventh, Tony Stewart will roll off eighth, ninth place starting position belongs to Mark Martin and Kurt Busch will roll off from the tenth position.

Other notables in the field include Clint Bowyer in 12th, Kevin Harvick in 13th, Dale Earnhardt Jr in 14th, Kasey Kahne in 15th, Jimmie Johnson in 17th, Jeff Gordon in 18th, and Ryan Newman in 20th. Rolling off from the 24th position is Carl Edwards, with Bobby Labonte starting 25th and Danica Patrick starting 40th.

There were 43 entries for 43 spots in the Auto Club 400 meaning everyone that took time made the field. The driver with the most experience in the field is Mark Martin who will make start #858. Timmy Hill is the driver with the least experience as he will make his sixth career start driving the #32 Ford for FAS Lane Racing. Hill will start 39th.

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series will have two one hour practice sessions on Saturday. The Auto Club 400 will start at 3:00pm on Sunday March 24th.

Tags: Auto Club Speedway, Brad Keselowski, Denny Hamlin, Greg Biffle, Motorsports, NASCAR, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: